Pursuit of Happiness

Hey guys, I will try to keep this short and straight to the point.

If you don't know about my story, there's a big thread in the breakup section here.

So here's a little summary for those of you who don't know about it:

- I was in a relationship of 6 years with my girlfriend.

- She moved abroad to work.

- She started cheating on me after 2 months with another guy.

- I didn't know about it until I saved up and paid her a visit.

- She was a huge bitch to me throughout the breakup and it ended very badly.

- She is still with the other guy and things are pretty serious between them.

This post isn't about her though (or maybe it is, I don't know). This post is mostly about me and my journey towards finding true happiness.

I am a fairly successful person. When the breakup happened, I was a Freelance Software Engineer in my country and obviously it was hard to keep freelancing while I was going through this ordeal. I even stopped to work for months.

However, a big opportunity came up for me and I am now in Abu Dhabi. It's a great city and I love it here. I am 24, a Director of Software Engineering at my company, financially very stable and the future will only get brighter for me professionally. I am loving this.

However, to be quite honest, I am not happier. I don't feel any better than when I was going through the breakup. I still feel very much alone. All I have right now means nothing to me. My ex came into my life when I just lost my mother to Cancer and she was a very important person in my life and I am very disappointed by her actions and how the relationship ended.

I know many of my friends who would kill to be in the position I am right now, with the job and everything, but I am still not happy. Maybe, subconsciously I know I would have preferred to share all of this with another person. My ex, most definitely, and I am just sad about all of this.