choosing college major

WhatIsLove2014

I'm 23 and I'm in my second year of college. I was a business major, then changed to biology. But now I'm thinking of switching back to business just to get done and go to grad school (MPH).

How did you choose your college major? Did it change, a couple or few times?

Any specific business (finance, marketing) majors? Just looking for some guidance. Any advice on majors to avoid. Is business a good major?

Thank you!

I already graduated from college as a mechanical engineer. My major did not change from start to finish mostly because I was fairly certain of what I wanted to do but some of my friends did change their major once, not really more than that.

When I was first deciding what major to do I only went on what I liked but if given the change again I would consider other things. Though it is very important to choose something that interests you, it is also important to look at its future prospects realistically. Some majors are very hard to get a good job in and that is just the reality, so whatever you choose be aware of how it will affect you in the future.

As for business being a god major or not, this is my opinion on it. Business by itself is not the best choice in regards to ease of getting employed and salary level. Does that mean it is impossible to get a good paying job with a business degree alone, no! It just means it is difficult.

I think if you are choosing business it is a good idea to choose it in tandem with something else. For example one of my friends did finance but he also took applied mathematics with it. It looks good to employers when you have some business experience combined with knowledge of whatever field you choose to go in. My friend with the finance and applied mathematics got a great job with an investment bank because of it.

That's just my two cents, if you want to discuss it further feel free to ask whatever.