2nd Bachelor's degree at 28?

most_distant_galaxy

Hello :) I will try to be short.

I was always an artistic person. quite creative and intuitive. When I was in high school, I wanted to be a graphic designer or a photographer. But when the time came to pick a field of studies, I was influenced by my parents and chose something "safer". Of course my parents meant well, and they have always been very supportive, in the sense that I can do a second degree after I finish the "safe" one.

So, now, I have a Bachelor's degree in computer science and a Master's degree in the same field. At the moment I am working for a small company. The hours are long, the working environment is nice, the pay is allright. I'm good at my job, but the thing is that I am realizing more and more that this field is not for me. And I know in my heart, that even though I am good, I will never be amazing at what I do.

I am more interested in beauty than in functionality. I am absolutely crazy about beautiful packaging and smart branding. I love reading design books, learning about colors, design principles, user experience. So, as you may imagine, I feel the urge to change completely field of studies and work, and jump to graphic design. I want to pursue a bachelor's degree and then continue from there.

Unfortunately, I just decided this, and registrations for the college I want are closed. So I will have to go next year. But that's allright. I have my job for now to keep me occupied.

The thing is, that the contract with the company expires in June. So, I'm thinking that after summer, I would like to concentrate on my new bachelor's degree. My best friend thinks that I should find another job and study at the same time, so my change won't be too risky.