Its been about a year since I began my last thread so I thought it was time to start a second thread.

If you're unfamiliar with my story so far here is a breakdown;

Summer/Fall 2012 and Winter 2013 I was;

-Unemployed

-Unable to be considered for a job because of terrible, out of date portfolio(im a graphic designer)

-Competing with many, many others for the crappiest of jobs.

-Kicked out of my apt

-Couch surfing for two weeks

-Unable to see my friends due to lack of money

-Would get maybe 3 responses for every 300-400 resumes I sent out.

-Wake up 3-5 in the afternoon/evening everyday

I was horribly depressed and seriously considered suicide everyday to end my seemingly meaningless life.

Somewhere along the line I hit rock bottom.. it was do or die and I decided to take action to improve my life. There were a lot of times were it seemed like 5 steps I would take forward, I would go back 3... or 6. But I kept pushing forward because there was nothing left for me to do.

In the past year these are the steps Ive taken and changes Ive made;

-Created a new portfolio of 15 pieces(with more in the works). It is a mix of client work, mock client work, personal work that is relevant to my field, and personal work that is just visual candy.

-Took a much more active role in the non-profit I was doing design for. I participated in meetings, initiated and spearheaded projects, and was principle in event planning, and learned a lot.

-Completely reworked my resume and CV and had a professional recruiter look over my resume

-Recently began participated more heavily in social media, connected with people in my field and have gotten a lot of positive feedback

-Got my first major client name in my portfolio, an upscale retailer with stores across the country :bunny:

-Been getting more freelance work, as a I add more projects to my portfolio.

-Now wake up 11 am - 1pm on days I dont work. Maybe later if I am a bit hungover. :p