hi everybody,

looking for your opinions yet again! This time it's about living on your own. I currently live at home (w/ parents), and they don't want me to move out until i get married. I have to live here for another year until I finish my bachelor's (I pay the tuition, so I wouldn't be able to live on my own). We do have a good relationship, but I have my heart set of moving out once I have my bachelor's, whether I'll be in grad school or working ...

What have your experiences been like? Do you think it's a good idea to move out and live on your own? Anybody stay at home until marriage?

Also, room-mates or no room-mates?

Any thoughts or comments or stories will be appreciated!

-yes

Yes-

I moved out when I was 21. I had a roommate for quite sometime. It was a guy and everything went pretty good, but then I moved in w/ a boyfriend (it was easier w/ the roommate) :) Anyway, now I live by myself. I bought my own house and I love it. I clean when I want, wake up when I want and I don't have to worry about my roommate coming home w/ a lot of unvited guest. It is hard however when it comes to the bills. I have my BS and I am working on my Master's degree. I have two jobs, but it is worth it. I suggest maybe starting off w/ a roommate because it is ALOT cheaper. If money is not an issue then I would suggest living alone. Just be careful who you chose to live with. You have to deal w/ their friends and boyfriends/girlfriends and anyone else they decide to bring into your home. I do suggest moving out because I think everyone (especially us women) need to know how to be independent! Don't wait around on a man! Good luck.

quankanne

lived at home until I was 21, because my parents were putting me through junior college. when I transferred to a university three hours from home, I lived in the dorms the first semester, which I think was a good transitional phase, because I met people but was still in a "protective" atmosphere (it was an all-girls dorm).