How can someone mentally change? You see when I was in school I weighed near 300 pounds. I was taunted, I was teased, I literally had no friends and I felt I didn't belong in school.

It had been like that my whole life practically because I never was popular. i never went out, didn't get asked out, heck I never even went to my prom or any other school function except graduation.

Well I graduated high school and since then I went from being 300 pounds and now eigh an average of 220. I'm not skinny, but I sure in the hell look a heck of a lot better than I did back in school.

Well, as you can guess I physically changed however my state of mind is still as it was when I was in school. You know, shy and doing whatever it takes to gain a friend or two and taking crap so you don't put up a fight risking making that person mad with the fear I'll lose a friend.

I'm shy, I am falling in love with a girl I've known since May and now with my mind being in the state it was back in high school I cannot find the courage to tell her with the fear of rejection and the fear that I'd lose her.

So I'm asking, I need to change mentally and telling me to just do it isn't going to help. My mind has been in this state for probably 10 years, it won't change in one night. Advice please.

Thanks,

Joe

Hi Joe,

Gaining the upper hand on your weight is a big step toward taking control of life. I don't know what you did to make that change but, whatever it was, you need to do basically the same thing with your relational life. Take control!

You don't have to live the way you have described. Be deliberate about what you like and what you don't like. When you discover there is something or someone you are attracted to, go for it. Make that leap. You have nothing to loose and you will feel much better just trying, even if you don't succeed the first or second time.