Losing motivation to lift weights

Alright so about a year ago I started lifting weights. I worked out about 3 times a week, doing about 5 different exercises. I kept this up for around 6 months, noticed some definite results. I'm a naturally skinny guy, but I was bench pressing about twice as much as I had started, curling about 2x the weight I had began with...and I noticed the shape/size of my muscles improving. Then about 4-5 months ago I started getting a little lazy. Instead of 5 exercises, I only did 4. Instead of 3 times a week....it was becoming 2-3. Then about 2 months ago, the 4 exercises a every work out is now only around 3-4, and I'm lifting 2 times a week at the most. Then ever since last month, I am only lifting once a week doing only bench press and bicep curls. Keep in mind I lift weights at home, so it's hard to say motivated all the time.

And as I was typing this post...I just decided I should join the gym it's only a 5 minute jog from my house - and only 25$ a month I can afford that since I am working almost full time. I hope that this will get me motivated again, but if anyone has any other ideas I'm all ears!

Try a gym if that gets you going... plus you'll meet chicks on top of it.

I work out once a week at a nearby park, doing pull-ups and push-ups. Once a week is all I can handle... I work my muscles so hard that I have to rest my shoulders and chest a good five days to achieve full recovery. I'll do cardio a couple times a week, too, when my work schedule allows for it.

Bottom line: mix it up a bit if you're getting bored. Sometimes a change of scenery can help, which is why I like working out at the park. A new environment can work wonders.

• Author

Ya you're right westernxer, I went to the gym today with some friends and I lifted much more than I normally would just working out at home. A change in scenery really helps.