Anyone in the medical field? Low BP.

Have been home testing and getting around 110/60 quite frequently. Sometimes the bottom number has even been in the 50's. Have once seen the top number below 100.

I've researched online, and nothing jumps out that's it very serious (compared to high BP). But I have read that this is considered "low BP".

Obviously I will mention this on my next doctor visit, but was wondering if anyone knew anything more about low BP.

I have it as well. Usually 110/70, but as low as 90/56. It's all good.

Yes, I'm a nurse. If you find yourself feeling dizzy when rising from a sitting or bending position, then it's a problem that needs to be addressed. Otherwise, your doc is going to say 'awesome'.

• Like 4
regine_phalange

Could it be because of the summer?

Midwest, I usually have a BP of around 125 and 75. My doctor says she'd prefer if it was a bit lower because I'm a lady. Do you agree with her?

Could it be because of the summer?

Midwest, I usually have a BP of around 125 and 75. My doctor says she'd prefer if it was a bit lower because I'm a lady. Do you agree with her?

It's the bottom number that is of greater concern, and 75 is fine. Depending on your age, she may be trying to watch a trend and make sure you're not heading upwards. Not sure what gender has to do with it.

Concern with the top number usually starts around 140, altho they may have lowered that lately, not sure.

• Like 1

NGC130,

Before I comment can I ask how old you are?

And have these reading been taken after rest or after exercise?

Thanks

AW

• Author

31 and at rest.

Sometimes after exercise (maybe 1/2 hour after) I get some of the lowest readings oddly enough.

I tend to hover around 85/58 (or 88/55, I forget). I'm 31. Doctors say I am perfectly fine though. My pulse is also pretty low, about 40.

hypertension- high blood pressure

hypotension- low blood pressure

I run low. dizzy spells, anemic and poor circulation.