Don't Feel Guilty About Pigging Out On Thanksgiving

I heard a nutritious on the radio earlier tonight talk about the high amount of calories the average thanksgiving meal is each year. They were saying something like 4500 calories and if you add desserts that's 6000 calories.

That's interesting information to know but I hope that it doesn't ruin anyone's fun during the holiday season. It's a special occasion so of course people are going to be inclined to eat more than they normally eat throughout the year.

Sure there will be minor setbacks in weight loss goals if those calories are not burned up but I don't think anyone's in danger of dying from a stroke or a heart attack just because of pigging out on thanksgiving. Usually those things happen because of a pattern of eating more calories than burning and a pattern of eating rich foods. But a pig out day on holidays is not going to be the thing that causes a decline in health.

If I was a doctor I wouldn't give any kind of dietary guidelines on thanksgiving. I say just enjoy yourself and eat until your heart's content. It would be hypocritical of me as a doctor to recommend anything else when I would be doing the same thing of committing gluttony.

Besides it's a proven fact that many doctors eat unhealthy food at the office and probably don't follow their own nutritional recommendations for patients. Doctors get overweight too.

Now for me personally I don't plan on pigging out that much as my appetite has been reduced this year. The way things have been going I'll probably just eat 1 plate and be done for the rest of the day. I don't get as hungry like I used to. On a typical day I eat 1 big breakfast and then a snack 4-5 hours later and then a moderate dinner in the evenings and then I'm done. On days when I go out to eat like at five guys burgers my belly is pretty much satisfied for the next 20-24 hours.