theonlyjuan

In 9 months time I will be a qualified Personal Trainer

I would like your opinions on what makes a good Personal Trainer

You can add what makes a bad PT also

Tell me about your experiences with Personal Trainers

Thank you :)

yellowmaverick

Really listen to your client to fully understand what he or she wants before you come up with a plan. Not everyone wants a huge butt like Kim Kardashian - make sure you are responding to what THEY want, not what you think they should look like.

Good luck!

• Like 1
thefooloftheyear

Make the client work HARD...If they dont like it, tough...You arent there to be their therapist or buddy....Most of the personal trainers I see at my gym are so busy texting, bullshytting and flirting with their clients....and they go nowhere at the end....Whats the point of that?

TFY

• Like 2
Under The Radar

I'm a career personal trainer ...... been in the field for 2 decades.

If you have any specific questions, feel free to PM me.

Under The Radar
Really listen to your client to fully understand what he or she wants before you come up with a plan. Not everyone wants a huge butt like Kim Kardashian - make sure you are responding to what THEY want, not what you think they should look like.

Good luck!

This is correct. A trainer should never project their personal goals onto a client. This is why knowing your key demographic ...... who you want to work with ...... is absolutely critical.

A trainer working with young athletes is going to need a different approach than a trainer working with deconditioned and overweight baby boomers.

As a trainer it's your job to educate and motivate. You will find that many trainees are open to learning the best way to achieve their goals ...... which for the general population is usually physique transformation (fat loss + building muscle).

An older trainee might just be interested in more energy, reducing aches/pains, and improving overall health.