What home equipment do I need?

It's been a while since I've gone to the gym (I used to get a mega discount because of my apartment complex), and I'd like to get back into shape.

Seeing as how I'm a college student and living entirely off of loans, a gym membership seems a little rough on my finances. I've checked the area (within 50 miles) and the only gyms near me have either abysmal reviews or are 40-50 bucks a month.

So, being that I have a very large bedroom and can store equipment, I'd like to purchase my own basic equipment and save myself some cash in the long term. I don't know exactly what I'd need though. I got a set of adjustable dumbbells already that have 40 lbs of plates total. I figure I'll need to scope out a bench as well as a barbell with plates for bench presses (right?). Is there anything else I should look into getting?

ThaWholigan
a chin up bar, maybe some bands.

These.

Also, see if you can get an iron kettlebell. Bench is good too. I got myself a skipping rope, a gym ball, and want to get a medicine ball too. If you can fit that stuff in, then great. Try to get a decent mat too, so that you don't have to do it all on the hard floor.

Depends on how much space you really have.

A bench with all of the attachments will let you do plenty. A good setup will come with a pulley tower for doing pulldowns, a leg attachment in the front, a preacher curl pad for biceps, you can do squats from the other side of the weight rack, etc.

I also like the pullup tower type of equipment but this will depend on your ceiling height. On these you can do pullups, tricep dips, leg and knee raises, a lot of important body weight movements instead of working with weights all the time. The doorway type pullup bar is option number 2 but won't let you do dips or leg raises in the same way.

Stationary bikes are pretty compact and quiet these days if you want something for cardio.

Doesn't your school have a gym facility...?