I have been working out with weights for about a year now and i seen great results...I do full body work out 3 times a week, m/w/f

I noticed that many of the guys who are huge and have been training for a long time dont do full body work outs, instead they do legs one day, chest another etc...

I was wondering if i should continue doing full body work outs or different parts of the body on different days?

Ryan is our bodybuilding expert here and he should be along later to help you with this.

I would hope you would pose this question to one of the trainers at your gym. You could get this answered real fast that way.

Of all the people I know who do weight training, most of them concentrate on certain areas each time. But that doesn't mean you should. In my opinion, weight training or any other body building activity is an individual thing and its course should be uniquely designed by an expert for each person.

I am not an expert, though. Stand by.....

• 4 weeks later...

Whew....glad Tony emailed me to get in here. Life sometimes gobbles up all of one's time very easily.

I'd like to clarify that I am not a bodybuilder. I am a lifter. I am not concerned with aesthetics. My research and goals are based on improving health and fitness.

That being said, there is NOTHING wrong with full body training. The most valuable weight training movements are those that incorporate large amounts of muscle mass. Do not necessarily trust all the actions of the "big men" around you as solid paths to take. You would be amazed at how widespread steroid/anabolic/androgenic use is, even amongst those who are not competitive bodybuilders or athletes. The best way to develop a sound program is to start with science and logic.