Obligated to take gf to clinic?

I've been seeing my gf about six months now. She is a recovering prescription drug addict and has been going to a methadone clinic for several years (apparently the methadone also helps with her chronic pain).

She doesn't drive and often asks me to take her down there in the morning. Either that or she gets her dad to take her (he lives nearby) or someone else. If all else fails she'll take the bus. I believe they give her a free or discounted bus pass each month for this purpose, but I'm not sure.

My question is, am I obligated to take her down there? She's not living with me. Basically, I hate the place, it's gross, and even if I'm only waiting in the parking lot for five minutes, it totally puts me off.

I don't mean to sound selfish or inconsiderate, but I have no experience with addicts. Our relationship has some other issues but I do love and care about her a lot.

If my read on the general sentiments in the 'is a wife obligated to have regular sex with her husband' thread is accurate, you should not feel any 'obligation' to do such things for your girlfriend; rather, if you feel your love and care impelling you to want to do it, do it. If not, not. Pay attention to your feelings and how she inspires your love and support. She has other options, like the bus pass. She'll be OK.

Have you ever taken her to the doctor who rx'd methadone for pain? I'm assuming the clinic is a cost issue, as it's not necessary for a pain patient. I ask because one person's pain can be another's MMT for opiate dependency.

I'd be careful investing here, as well as, if you do love and care for her, investing some time educating yourself about this dynamic (chronic pain, rx med abuse and synthetic opiates).

Good luck.

• Author