My boyfriend is angry and swears a lot. Is this abusive?

Liliana25

Hi everyone, I would really appreciate some advice. I have been with my boyfriend for over four years. From the start we’ve had a long distance relationship only seeing each other on weekends. He recently quit his job and works from home on his own business. I’m doing a Masters degree.

We usually get on really well. I feel like we understand each other. We have the same sort of moods and opinions. He’s sweet, affectionate, and very loving. I trust him completely and know that he would never cheat on me. He’s always been supportive and encouraging of my education and my goals. He can cook, clean, iron, and look after himself. This is one of the things that really attracts me to him. He always says he loves me and that his feelings haven’t changed.

Lately I’ve been feeling like something’s wrong in our relationship. The last year has been really difficult and we have been constantly arguing. He has become really angry and will lose his temper easily. When this happens he swears a lot, mostly the F word. At the beginning of our relationship he used to swear only occasionally and when the situation really warranted it. I have told him several times that it bothers me and I always tell him off when he swears and he always apologises. I used to feel that he respected my feelings on the issue and that he tried to change or at least limit his swearing.

In the last year though there have been a few incidents in which he will shout at me and swear repeatedly (using the F word) during an argument and he often reduces me to tears. He also doesn’t seem to care that it is upsetting me. I wrote him a letter telling him that swearing bothers me and he stopped for a few months last year. However, at the weekend we argued twice. I am still so upset and hurt. I feel that everything else he’s done pales in comparison to how he treated me at the weekend.