Men are sketchy. Especially this guy! What's his intention?

I have been talking to a new male friend of mine for a few months, now. We talk about all sorts of things, but it is usually about my eventful [or rather uneventful and pathetic] life.

The challenging part of the friendship is:

(a) He doesn’t fully trust me; he thinks I make up stories, and lie about my life. He thinks since I don’t trust him, then he can’t trust me. Not true – I trust him.

(b) He gently and plainly told me he doesn’t like my attitude, and way of ignorance.

© Almost every time we talk about his or my personal life or anything inbetween, he tells me that I just don’t understand him [his character, behavior, intensions]. And that I don't learn from others' advice, mistakes, and take my lesson.

(d) He has, tried in the past, to walk away from the friendship but decided to stay.

If he doesn’t like me, for who I am, then so be it. I can’t force someone to accept me - including my qualities, attitude, and personality. I feel that he is playing with me.

For instance: In the recent past, he had wanted to date a foreign girl that he had met on his travels but couldn’t do so due to her attachment to another guy. Fast forward 2 1/2 years, and I suggest he contact her and perhaps hooks up with her [as he tells me he is still interested in her]. He quickly tells me that he has since moved on and that he is now interested in someone else [with a sense of frustration and anger, knowing that I don’t “understand” him]. So, I drop the subject and never bring it up for fear of hurting his feelings.

I want to help him out, as we are good friends. But he refuses to admit that he still wants to hook up with her [as I suggest to him, that it is not too late to go see her].

From what I’ve observed, he hasn’t moved on. I know he hopes that he could have been with her, but he’s just stuck there. He is making it hard for me to suggest a ‘move on’ method.