Appears my being honest was a mistake...

I have been talking to a woman I met online for 2 months and were finally set to meet this Saturday and last night apparently I made the mistake of admitting I cheated on a gf 5 years ago. I am not proud not of alot in my life I have done...I also have no issue about being up front and honest about it so what did I do wrong?

Revealing the worst part of yourself is lousy 1st meet / 1st date conversation. If she point blank asked, you didn't have a choice. It was probably her way of weeding out people from OLD. If you volunteered this info, that is exactly where you went wrong. A 1st date is not a confessional. All 1st date conversation should be light & upbeat. It's an audition / job interview not a place to get absolution for past mistakes or to bare your soul.

somanymistakes

As a side issue, remember that early dating is about getting to know each other and deciding whether you like each other enough to stick it out for the long term.

If you tell someone a truth about you and they break it off, that does not necessarily mean you made a mistake. That may mean that you did exactly what you should do, reveal information that makes them realise they don't want to date you, so you can both move on in quest of better matches.

That doesn't mean you have to dump everything up front. But if you tell a lady you're a Catholic and she goes "oh, i don't date Catholics" and leaves, that doesn't mean you made a mistake, that means this was not a relationship that was ever going to work.

• Like 3
  • Author

This may be a needed lesson to learn. Never volunteer bad info about yourself when dating? A she had no issue with another admission that I had been in prison though.

This may be a needed lesson to learn. Never volunteer bad info about yourself when dating? A she had no issue with another admission that I had been in prison though.

Maybe it was the combo.