The Gatsby Effect

the_entertainer1

In The Great Gatsby, something I like to call 'The Gatsby Effect' always resonates with me ...

Gatsby tries so hard to get Daisy - he idolises her and his whole being is consumed by his desire for her, for years. When he finally does get to be with her, it's not enough. The idea of Daisy was greater than the reality of being with her, and both of them end up dissatisfied; it's futility is heart-breaking, really.

This aspect rings true with me because of a situation I'm in. This guy and I have been flirting on and off for nearly five years. We used to work together, which is why we're still just flirty friends (for want of a better definition!) We've dated other people but still, in between times, found ourselves drawn back to each other. We've talked about the possibility of taking our friendship further, but earlier this year, the guy said to me (while flirting with me) that if something was going to happen between us, it would have happened years ago. I disagreed and said that it had just been a matter of timing. We're at a stage where we'll probably see each other again before Christmas and something might finally happen ... but I'm worried that it'll turn out like Gatsby and Daisy - that the actuality won't be as good as the imagined.

How does one prevent that from happening?

You mean, don't be hopeful like Gatsby?

Don't put people on pedestal's, lest they don't live up to your expectations.

Incidentally The Great Gatsby is one of my favourite novels.

• Like 1
Half Of What We Know