Friend with Benefits at work - gone wrong

I've been working with a guy for four years - we've become really close over that time and had the occasional secret kiss at work parties. We would text most days and be there for each other through thick and thin.

I should mention he is Muslim so a relationship / sex before marriage is technically forbidden, however we've kept growing closer and recently things did develop and we started sleeping together.

Everything has been okay and he stayed at my house over the weekend and mentioned things like he would be with me if he could and if I was Muslim he would want to marry me etc..

Now he's decided that he should be more focussed on his religion and said he wants to stop the sex side of things but still wants to see me / take me out and speak to me like before.

I feel really hurt at this and can't understand how things could change in the space of a couple of days. I'm not ready to stop the arrangement and if anything I'm becoming more involved.

I'm really struggling now at work to be okay with him, and Ive barely spoken to him on messages - said I want space. He's tried texting me tonight and wants to see me tomorrow after work to talk. I don't want to lose what we had but I don't see how we can go back to how we were before. I'm uoset he can easily go back to friends despite saying those other things at the weekend.

Very confused :( I realise I shouldn't have got involved in the first place but just need some kind words and advice please...

Bull poopy...

A Muslim "male" (not the females) can marry outside of their religion...the "caveat" if you will, is that they are to marry a "religious/pious" woman.

Sorry, but seems like you were used. Don't feel bad, lots of guys - regardless of religion - have women they mess around with till and/or while they court the women they really wanna marry (the "nice" girls and/or the ones giving him blue balls).