My success no matter how humble angers people.

Mrlonelyone

I am a adjunct professor now. I only have a Masters degree but I am a professor because my research record has that much impact . In 2015 peer reviewed citations will start to accumulate rapidly.

For someone my age, an age where most PhD's are on their second or third post doc position this is great. By all rights I should not have my jobs. Yet my modest success seems to irritate annoy and anger people I know or have known. I have tried to downplay it with humility but still.

Give me an alternative to this. I really want to just be like eff it and just be a total *ick. Call myself Prof. MLO MS in all correspondence, not just official documents as is my right (in the USA one does not need to be a dept. chair to use that title. Unlike the UK where prof. is reserved for the dept. chair or someone holding an endowed chair. All those who teach college courses for college credit are professors.)

GorillaTheater

I've been in higher ed for 17 years, but as "staff", not faculty. At the risk of generalization, here's what I have observed:

1) Adjunct faculty are generally treated fairly crappy by tenured or tenure-track faculty. They tend to rank adjuncts about as lowly as staff. Even staff like me that they have no choice but to pay attention to.

2) Faculty can be surprisingly prone to petty jealousies regarding the achievements and success of other faculty.

Put the two of them together, and you find yourself where you are (assuming of course you were talking about your peers and not those outside academia).

I think I can explain the source of the problem, but not the solution. I don't know that you have any other options but to just deal.

Big congrats on your scholarly success!