LoveShack.org Community Forums

Reload this Page LoveShack.org Community Forums > General > General Relationship Discussion

Misinformation About Risks Associated with Paternal Age at Childbearing

General Relationship Discussion Everything else under the sun. Not sure where to post? This is the place!

Like Tree53Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th April 2014, 3:11 PM   #1

Misinformation About Risks Associated with Paternal Age at Childbearing

Good information puts solid numbers on this subject. Subtitle, "Researcher Puts Out Misleading Press Release to Pump Up News Coverage, is Caught by Peers".

Science.
123321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2014, 3:21 PM   #2
Established Member

Nice try...

Not buying it...

I've been a scientist for a long time.

As much as the old guys trying to have kids into their 40's and above would prefer otherwise... It simply isn't logical that men's sperm has no contribution to the health or viability of child.

Try adoption if you absolutely must be a parent past that age. Is my opinion.
RedRobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2014, 3:29 PM   #3

"When compared to a child born to a 24-year-old father, a child born to a 45-year-old father is 1.5 times more likely to have autism, .7 times less likely to have ADHD, 1.3 times more likely to have a psychotic disorder, 1.5 times more likely to have bipolar disorder, .9 times less likely to have suicidal behavior, .8 times less likely to have a substance abuse problem, .7 times less likely to have failing grades in school, .9 times less likely to have low educational attainment, .8 times less likely to have a low IQ; and 1.5 times more likely to have some higher education."

From actual, measured data. Not opinion.
Old 8th April 2014, 3:38 PM   #4
Established Member

Journal Entries: 39