Does she want to date? So confused...

Okay, I have a long story, and I would really appreciate some feedback on this.

I am a 23 year old male, I just recently (May) graduated from college with a BS, and I just recently (3 weeks ago) finished writing my second book. Unfortunately, I'm a very socially awkward person; in fact I've never had what one would consider a "date" with a female. Due to the fact that I've been writing like crazy while going to school at the same time, I've also become quite a big (fat) person over the past few years.

I have a part-time job at a retail store as a sales clerk, I've had it for 5 years now and I feel that it's greatly increased my social abilities compared to what they were when I was in highschool. Two months ago, at this job, a woman comes up to me and gives me her phone number. Naturally, I'm completely confused; why would anyone do that? As far as I can tell there's nothing physically attractive about myself, and no one knows I'm an author, etc, so this just blew my mind.

Anyway, I end up calling her, and we talk about four times (20-30 minutes each time), but I can never quite get a conversation past a superficial level (as in, asking why she gave me her number), so we end up talking about things like cars, sports (I'm not into that stuff that much, but she is), religion, politics, and so on. Unfortunately, the timing wasn't great for me; I was already a month behind the deadlines for the book, and honestly had no time to engage in a social relationship with anyone (there were periods where I was awake for 3 days straight), so I left a message on her voicemail and said I'd call her back in a week.