Overly critical boyfriend..

Hi everyone, I'm new to this whole thing and am a little nervous talking about all this but I really need some insight from an outside source.

Ok I've been with my boyfriend for three and a half years. Things were really great at the start but in the last year and a half of our relationship they have gone downhill significantly. He has become overly critical and judgemental over things like the fact that I get stressed about my college work (I'm one year away from completing my honours degree and am working weekends) he doesn't think I should be getting as stressed about this!

If I say Im tired if I've had a long week, he'll start giving out that I shouldn't be tired because I'm not as busy as him he works two jobs and is in a relatively successful band so he feels that since he is "busier" than me I should have no right to complain.

He started a fight with me one morning when I was getting ready for college because I put on a pair of pants that he doesn't like. He doesn't understand why I would wear them if he does like them. I told him that I like them so I'm going to wear them so then he started to criticise me sayng I only wear what everyone else wears and that I have no individuality.

He often gives out to me for the fact that I seem like I'm in a better mood around my friends than I am around him, despite the fact that I see him pretty much everyday compared to I get to see my friends once a week as we're all in different colleges.

I have tried telling him to stop being so critical but he just twists it around and says that he can't talk to me about things that are bothering him. It has gotten to the stage now where I have started to flip out at him when he starts criticising me because I'm getting so frustrated by him and then I start to say mean things to him. Its a vicous circle and when I tell him that I'm only freaking out because I can't handle the criticisms anymore he says I'm just trying to blame everything on him.