My family is destroyed

I am a 47 year old woman, married for 8 years. I have a 19 year old son from a previous relation. I am a full time student with no $ except my student loans. My husband has been verbally abusive almost since we got married. The las 3 or 4 years he has become extremely verbally abusive and he started breaking things around the house during each argument. During the last year he started throwing objects close to me or at me. 3 months ago he started being physically abusive by grabbing my clothes and teraing them to get to my cel phone so that I could not call the police. 3 weeks ago he hit me for the first time. We were having an argument and he threw the liquid from a plastic bottle he was drinking from on my face and in my eyes, the liquid (whole milk) blurred my vision because I wear hard contact lenses and burned my eyes, I murmured the word "idiot" more to myself than anything, He said, "what did you call me? I am going to show you what happens to you when you call me names" He hit me on my right eye with the small plastic milk bottle that he grabbed as a weapon, full force. I ended up with a cut on my face under the eye which bled and a black eye. I honestly believe he was going for the eye to try to bust it but God made me close my eye and move my head slightly backwards at the last millisecond because I remember seeing the bottle right in front of the eye before I got hit. After he did this he laughed at me, told me I looked stupid with the blood on my face and told me "that's what happens to you when you call me idiot". He said he was going to continue hitting me. I called the police, I did not press charges but the police did and arrested him. He is in jail. My son left the house for good, he says he cannot be with me anymore because of all I have put him through by livivng with this abuser. I am contemplating divorce. I lost my husband and my son in a matter of hours. I am very depressed and confused. I also have a restraining order