If we were going to die in our sleep tonight....

Being a photographer, I visit several forums on the subject to view excellent photographs and to learn the lastest information about digital photography.

I learned today that one of the models who is featured in the forums from time to time, Melanie...in her early 20's, died yesterday. She was one of a set of twins and they were up and coming in the modelling field. Her sister posted just a few minutes ago that she died in her sleep from alcohol poisoning. I did not know her personally.

When this happens, you suddenly realize that life is short, the end is unpredictable and any day can be our last. We can be killed from an accident, a heart attack, or any one of a thousand other medical complications or types of fatal mishaps.

Why do we take things so seriously when life can be over so quickly?

Why do we care when people post here using different names?

Why do we get jealous or fearful that somebody's going to leave us? It's their right to do so if they wish.

Why do we sit around and take crap off of our partner when there are plenty of others who will treat us like royalty?

Why do some make their loved ones lives' so aggravating or complicated instead of trying to make their time here as pleasant as possible?

Why do we hang on for dear life to stuff from our childhoods that is obviously causing us great difficulty?

Why do we worry about asking somebody we're interested in on a date? Why do we care about their reaction? Today may be the last chance we will ever have to see if we have a chance.

Why do we tear through out partner's computer to see what he or she has been writing, viewing, saving, etc.?

Why do we shake in our boots about telling a friend of the opposite sex that we have fallen in love with them? Today may be our last chance. They may not be here tomorrow. We may not either. Why does it make a difference if it creates a weird situation? Who cares?