Hi,

We are divorced.

Me - I'm 28y old computer programmer on the rise

in the career. Considered extremely successful in

our social circle, I live alone and can afford myself

and kid a decent living. I have suffered terrible three

years period financially and a heartbreak documented

here also so I know it is possible to achieve if you strive

towards it enough. Also I'm very liberal.

Her - 29, unemployed and very static. One part in our

divorce is her family which lives on the verge of poverty

and the second is her self taught helplessness that

among other things jeopardized my career.

The problem - she took the child to her parents. Their

household has five members now, none of them employed.

They are extremely static and all of them lack ambition.

On the other hand I consider them okay grandparents in

comparison to my family.

The issue is that since I know there is a way out 'coz I did

it. Now I'm worried that kid will inherit those traits and will

learn that same kind of helplessness and lack of ambition .

Also the conditions the kid is now are poor compared to how

am I living. Kids in early grades here are cruel and I want to

prevent him going through some experiences I had

to witness at that age.

I hope you understand the issue ? Can you help me shift my

perspective?

I pay for kid and I visit him.

noelle303

Well, you mentioned that they are good grandparents. If they are loving towards your child then he can have good balance of a loving family and a role model in you.

Make sure that you are involved and hands on. Talk to your child about his interests, encourage them, pay for lessons, sports, extracurricular activities and be present. Show him by example what work ethic means.