What in the heck do you do for childcare when not millionare?

jakrbbt

Parents, what do you do these days for childcare so you can work? Can everyone just be using grandparents?

I am a lawyer. I make a decent but not high income. I have one child, who is two years old (and not potty trained yet). My parents are too old to be even part-time caregivers on any regular basis.

Two days of day care for my son costs $650 per month. Added to my $100k+ student debt, and other bills, that's stretching my budget, but I've been doing it so far.

Full-time, 5 days would be $1200. My ex theoretically should split the cost, but he is basically unemployed. And if he's even going to work, he's in a bind, because he probably can't come anywhere near to affording the child care to cover his work days.

What do most people do? Say you work at 8, and your child starts school at 8:30. How do you get them to/from school? Does everyone just have a stay-at-home spouse again? Ideas (besides getting a stay-at-home spouse) welcome.

WaitingForBardot

We used au pairs for the first four years. It wasn't free, but it was significantly cheaper than any of the alternatives. It was a bit of a crapshoot though: two of the girls were great with the kids (although one of them really clashed with my wife), one was so-so, and the last one was a disaster. We ended up just paying her off and sending her home before her contract was up. And of course you need a room in your home for them.

Even considering the issues with the one girl, we would have done it again if we'd had more kids.

• Like 1
  • Author

I can't imagine an au pair being significantly less than $1200/month.

My ex-husband and I share theoretically 50/50 (though he'd probably be ok with contributing to an approved au pair and just having her live in, and watch son in, my house).

It's really less expensive than day care? May I ask whether you have some starting-point you recommend-- where to research au pair options?

WaitingForBardot