My son has been diagnosed with ADHD

Lishy

So after long and drawn out test's - It has been confirmed!

Even though I know that he was born with it and nothing has really changed I would love to hear from other parents who have children with ADHD and know what to expect, my son is now 11 years old.

My son has a mild form that cannot be treated with meds - He does not have anger issues, his problems lay with his immaturity, impulsivness and memory

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Sorry you have to deal with this. Good Mother's always have to work so dang hard.

It seems that (on this side of the pond) loads of kids have it, I hear it all the time. So you're not alone at all.

That infobit and my sympathy aren't much, just all I got for ya.

I'm sure you'll get some useful replies here.

Take care kiddo.

GP

Hi Lishy,

First of all, don't worry too much. Worrying never solves a thing as we all know.

I am not a doctor or psychologist but I am a teacher with many years of experience. Plus I have a nephew who is autistic so I do have some empirical knowlege but no scientific background.

As far as my experience goes, I know, that children who display signs of a disorder have certain common characteristics but they also have other more personal manifestations of the disorder.

Perhaps it would help if you could list some of the manifestations you see in your son. That might help elucidate things and perhaps together we can brainstorm and seek for ways that you can start to deal with each problem one by one.

Needless to say, above all, patience.

Marlena

I'm sure there's some type of therapy that specializes in ADHD that he can do once or twice a week.

Also, talk to your family Dr about seeing a nutritionist, diet does affect this as well. Google search naturalpathic doc's in your area, maybe that can help too.

Life isn't going to be easy for him, or for you, but I'm sure with alot of love, patience and support from you, he'll be okay..

• Author