Mother inlaw cold as ice, only to me

Moria

Here is an issue. My mother inlaw is the matriarch of the family. Greatly respected as a survivor of WW2 and adored by her grandchildren. In over 20 years I have always made it a point to be sure she is respected and admired. The kids have a week w her each one on their own and we bend over backwards to give time and support when needed and room when she is visiting here.

It all started 20 years ago I married her only son. I learned a few weeks into the marriage that she had wanted a prenup signed but he never brought it to my attention. She then proceeded to distrust all my family and I would do over time. I worked weekends so when the inlaws came to visit I was never home. That does not help trust me . They learned that i was invisible and from then on that is how it has been...... Her negativity was carefully icy only to me. Her desires were that I was a cook and partner and finanacially sound. As a young married girl I was none of these but we muddled along. My spouse would use his parents as a venting sponge and I allowed that to happen. We were far away. Life is short and I admit I vented to my parents too. Then we moved closer as they all got older. His dad died. She now becomes a real source pain to me.

How can I improve this relationship. We are not in town, we are 3 hours away. His only sister feeds the fire as well. So I am often at best politely included and at worst shunned at events. I know I am different. But it has been 20 years and our children and beautiful and accomplished and we have proven we are good for each other. Luckily the marriage is fine.