Overprotective Mother

/\/eO

Where should I begin? Well for 18 years now I have lived with a overbearing/overprotective mother. Now I am a freshman in college and I am living at home. Don't get me wrong, I am grateful to my mother for everything she has done for me. But her overprotectiveness is rediculous. The main point I wanted to illustrate is her unwillingness to let me get my drivers license. I know legally that I am 18 and I am able to get it on my own. But I do not have a job and I have been vigorously looking for one. She does not have insurance on her car and you need insurance to get my license. I will be turning 19 next month in december and I am very mad that I am not able to get my license yet. I do have a permit though, but she did not let me drive her car at all while my permit was still valid before it expired. She has a good job and I know she can afford insurance but she chooses not to get it. Which inturn affects me. I have never owned my own car and the cars I have driven was only a rental car we got while the car was in the shop getting fixed at one point. I do not know what to do right now. I am very mad that I am not able to do anything about the situation. It is very embarrasing to get dropped off at college everyday by my mother because I don't have a license nor a car. It is seeming like life won't get any better nor will I gain independence until I graduate from college. Also another factor that bothers me is that she feels like any girl I talk to at school will "ruin my life". I can't even have a girl call my house before she starts over reacting about. I am almost 19 AND she still acts like I am 14. I don't know what to do right now and am contemplating mass depression in the near future. I know my situation seems fixable, but its semi-complicated and it stresses me out alot. Is there any organization or something that can help me? I was thinking about asking my mother's friend if he could add meto his insurance for a few months so tha