The ruined vacation

trombean

Ok so I'm planning on proposing to my gf. I've been with her for almost 4 years now. I'm 28 and she's 25 and living with her parents. I've been saving up money for 2 years for this very moment. My dream is to take her to disney world (her favorite place on earth) and propose during the fireworks show.

Her family is very traditional. Knowing this, I decided to go up to her mom (about 2 months ago), I asked her for my blessing and told her my plans for the proposal. I was going to surprise her with the trip and tell her it's her that it's her present for graduating college. She gave me the green light but with one catch... She wants to come with us because it's "indecent" for a couple that isn't married to go anywhere by themselves. I politely argued with her that that really wasn't going to work. I gave her my word that nothing would happen over there and asked her if there was anything I could do to change her mind.

When she still was unsure I said "That's ok, I can think of something else. But this whole thing really isn't going to work if there are other people there with us".

In the end, she finally agreed, gave me the green light, told me to go ahead and make all the arrangements for the trip and to just "think about it", but that she would try to see it the same way that I do. So promptly afterwards, I booked the trip and bought the ring.

About a few weeks ago, after I had already told her about the trip (her mom didn't know that she knew yet), I get a call from her mom. She said that we need to think of some way to trick her, I.E: Having her say it's a family trip and then I surprise her there in Orlando. Why? Because "She knows I would never ever let her go anywhere by herself and she would never say yes to going anywhere with you alone". Well that was kind of awkward because I had already told her and she was extremely ecstatic about the idea.