Is it wrong of my parents to not let me go out with my friends..... ?

beuatylover9

I am 20 years old and my parents won't let me go out to lunch with my friends while they aren't home. I am a college student and still living with my parents. I don't have my own car which means that my friends have to pick me up from my house in order to go out with them. Do you think that it is wrong of my parents to not let me go out with my friends while they aren't home?

Personally, OP, I do think your parents are wrong; but, I'm the type of parent who believes it's our job to raise productive, contributing citizens to society...so shielding them from every...little...thing is counterproductive to the end-goal.

But, on the other hand (and it's the bigger hand of the two), 'Their House, Their Rules'. Don't like it? Move out. Can't move out? Negotiate a better deal. Can't score a better deal OR move out? Then...suck it up, buttercup.

Best of luck to you...

• Like 5

Have you given them reason in the past not to trust you or your friends? Have you had friends over and later found that things were taken or damaged in your house? Do your parents meet your friends when they pick you up? Do they know your friends at all?

If they don't know them then it's a good idea to invite them in every once in a while so your folks can see who it is you socialize with and feel better about your life outside the house. "I'm still getting ready, park and come in for 5 minutes if you want" is a simple way to do so.

Otherwise, just go out with them and don't tell your parents. They're not gonna disown you. You're 20, not 10.

They might not disown you, but they can certainly stop supporting you.

What is your parents rationale for not letting you go out? And is moving out of home an option for you?

• Like 2
  • Author

My parents allow me to go out but only when they are home. I'm not sure why but that is their rules. I am planing on moving out after I finish college.

GunslingerRoland