To all the adults with controlling parents

Don't listen to people who tell you your parents are controlling because they love you. That is a bunch of BS, they can love you without trying to control you. It's something called balance meaning having a good relationship with your parents but at the same time being allowed to live your life. Society has to stop encouraging this behavior, these kind of parents have a problem and they need Jesus. Being controlling comes from the Devil. Love is not controlling and it should not produce anxiety, depression, sadness, and all kinds of negative feelings. Wake up to the truth.

• Like 1

My parents were very strict & they had extremely conservative views. Even as an adult while I was getting my graduate degree & lived in their house while they paid my tuition out of respect & in exchange for their financial support I felt obligated to abide by their wishes. Once I graduated & moved out, I was free to ignore them.

So if as an adult you feel controlled by your parents it's up to you to act like an independent adult, move out of their house, forgo their financial assistance & stick up for yourself. However, if you are still benefiting from them, understand the costs of their help is that you abide by their rules, restrictions & "control."

• Like 6
Don't listen to people who tell you your parents are controlling because they love you. That is a bunch of BS, they can love you without trying to control you. It's something called balance meaning having a good relationship with your parents but at the same time being allowed to live your life. Society has to stop encouraging this behavior, these kind of parents have a problem and they need Jesus. Being controlling comes from the Devil. Love is not controlling and it should not produce anxiety, depression, sadness, and all kinds of negative feelings. Wake up to the truth.

Well I take offense to this! By Saying "Don't listen" you are controlling how I am to be. ;)