How do I let this go and move on?

lilmiscassie92

lilmiscassie92

I came back home to live until getting accepted into grad school and things started to burn me out. My mother is an alcoholic and there is always constant fighting in my household to the point where the cops have had to come a few times. No one has any respect nor do they care about how my schedule has been with school and work (I'm a first generation college student). I finally got into an argument with all of them telling them how I feel and it escalated to the point where 2 of my family members assaulted me, my mother one of them, and a third threatened to "bash my head into the wall" - mind you, these types of threats were common growing up. I said I wanted to call the police and all of them lied about it saying they were going to deny it and have them "send me away". I moved out immediately within a week.

They all act like nothing happened, but they don't understand how I cannot let things go nor how I am feeling. This happened a couple months ago, btw. Not a single one of them has been supportive or a positive figure growing up, and I feel as though I want to just get away from all of them. I don't want to be around it anymore. It bothers me when my mother texts me every day and just stresses me out. Am I bad for wanting to cut ties with my own family?

You are the product of their inept ability to face life. Your healthy choice to veer away from that behavior and mentality speaks volumes about your nature.

Until they face their demons, create your own adult family.

Since you did grow up in that environment you may wish to seek counseling as this type of family does have some residual effects into the adult years.

As for the lie they told you, any police officer would only need see your physical marks, their denial doesn't hold water against the physical. Charges of assault should have been filed.