My ridiculously overprotective parents are driving me insane...

purplesoccer34

purplesoccer34

I graduated from a 4-year university last year, and I tried for months to find a job, without any luck. I ultimately found a job but it wasn't enough for me to be able to live on my own. I still have that job and I'm currently living with my parents.

I managed to get into graduate school and just started classes. I'm doing my masters degree in a field which is a lot more employable than my college major, so I have a good feeling I'll find a job in 2 years. I'm paying for graduate school myself.

Living with my parents has become pure torture because of how overprotective they are. When I tell them I'm going to hang out with my friends (and yes I have to let them know that I'm leaving and what time I'm going to be back), I have to be back by a certain time. If I'm not back by that time, they will call nonstop until I get home. One day, I didn't come home until 1 am and they got so worried that they went looking for me all over. This was despite me answering their calls, telling them that I'll be home soon. Generally, they want me to be home by 11 pm. I'm also not allowed to go on vacation with my friends, anywhere. I'm not allowed to sleepover at friends' places. I'm not allowed to leave my house to go anywhere if it's past 9 pm.