My mother is being extremely selfish

alison1

Hi. I am currently a college student at a prestigious university. As I became older, I have began studying my facial profile. I have a weak chin, and I believe it detracts from my looks. I was embarrassed to tell my parents for a while that I don't like my chin, but finally today I texted my mother casually, saying...

Me: i got a 90 on my spanish test

mom: yay so proud of you!!

Me: I don't like my chin

Mom: shut up

me: I'm serious. it detracts from my appearance

mom: your brain and ****ed up personality detracts from your looks. bye.

me: can we please set up a consultation to talk to the plastic surgeon that has done your neck and eyes?

mom: leave me alone. stop this nonsense.

People say I'm pretty, but that's not enough. I'm unhappy with my chin/profile and I want a chin implant. My mother has gotten 2 anti-aging surgeries in the past year, and this doctor is very skilled and natural. Two years ago, i was considering a nose job and she brought me to the doctor for a consultation. I backed out of getting a nose job, even though I had set up a date, because I realized the problem was my chin, and not my nose. I definitely do not want a nose job even though I have a bump on it. I like my flawed nose, but I dislike my flawed chin. Why can't she take me for a consultation because of my chin? Any advice on how to convince her? Thanks.

1. What does your university's prestige have to do with this question?

2. Why can you not just book a consultation yourself? If you're at university, you're most likely over the age where you can give consent to these things.

• Like 1

You sound a bit insecure and entitled.

Insecure because you are making your chin the repository of all your problems.

The comparison with your mom's operations does not work, a college student should not resort to cosmetic surgery so fast ... quite frankly it points at low self-esteem.

And entitled because ... well.