my parents hate my fiancee/husband/exhusband and i cant' fix it!

babysbreath

babysbreath

[font=arial][/font][color=indigo][/color]

I have a BIG problem in my life. Very complicated too. But then again, its been that way from the start.

Kay, a week after i graduated high school i started dating my friend who was about 10 years older than me. I wasnt actually supposed to be friends with him because four years earlier my parents told me i wasnt allowed to be friends with him simply because of his age. I did anyways because he was a really good friend, and we grew very close as friends over that four years. I didnt tell my parents when we started dating because i knew there would be controversy. He is the sweetest and most caring guy i know, and i grew to love him more and more. finally, a while later he asked me to marry him. I said yes. So after this all happened, about seven months into our relationship i told my parents i was dating him. they were really angry and said i could date him, but they never wanted to meet him. Well, i had told my sister we were engaged, and she told them that we were engaged the next day.

I came downstairs not knowing this, and they told me my sister had told them. They said i wasnt allowed to see him again, though i told them i would anyways. My dad almost wouldnt let me go back to college. (i was on spring break from my college where i lived away from home) the reason i didnt tell them that we were engaged was because we were going to wait three years to get married. My parents were mad that i hadnt told them, and upset. i thought it was a good idea not to tell them because then it wouldnt be such a shock and then they would have gotten to know them (because eventually they would have met him) and it would have been further on in the relationship and they could accept it more easily as opposed to blow up like they were doing.