Mom thinks boyfriend is too "low class"

diet_frog

I've been having massive family drama lately, mainly in the form of my disapproving mom.

I'm 24 years old, and just graduated from graduate school. My job isn't exactly high paying, and it's located 10 minutes away from my mom's house (parents are divorced) so I've been living at home to save money. It's been awkward to say the least, especially since I started dating my current boyfriend.

I felt that I needed to tell my mom about him since I was living at home, so I did. Boy, was that a mistake. My boyfriend is slightly older and graduated from a state university. Whereas, I graduated from a more prestigious university and went to a top university for grad school. Instantly, my mom thought he was too "low class." Especially when she discovered that his parents are what she considers "blue collar."

Basically, my mom massively disapproves. She picks fights with me and demands to know why I'm not just "friends" with him. She also questions me about why I didn't find a "nice boyfriend" when I was in graduate school.

My boyfriend is far from being a deadbeat. He works at a decent tech company and gets paid a great salary. He supports himself. He's also awesome to me, and we get along great.

The only thing is I feel like if I keep dating him my mom will never think of him as an "acceptable" partner. She's stubborn, and she admits that he's nice (she's met him a few times). Except she still thinks that "nice" doesn't cut it and that I would be better off with someone with an ivy-league education. Has anybody ever faced a similar situation? Any ideas on how to address these types of issues?