My Mother

Independant

Independant

Hi there, I am new to LS, just needed somewhere to come and talk about my mother, this has been brewing inside for many years. Sorry this is going to be long. I am 28 years old and currently not speaking to my mother as I just couldn’t take her telling me what to do anymore.

I am an only child and my mother controlled everything I did at all times, regardless of the age. I was a honour student, never got into trouble, but was never allowed to do anything, no sleepovers, barely got to go to friends houses, they were usually never allowed over, I couldn’t go out with them, I wasn’t allowed to date when my other friends did, and when I finally did she hated all boyfriends (and has always hated any man in my life). I was so sheltered when I was young I wasn’t able to maintain many other relationships, so was often isolated. I was her slave basically, I had to do all the cooking, cleaning, everything, and if it wasn’t done, I got yelled at for what felt like ever about it. Even now, when I am at her place, she tells me to do stuff for her, she is very bossy, and never does anything for herself, she is always making others do it for her. My husband always got upset that she ordered me around so much, and I totally got his point, but it was much easier to do what she said, then start a fight.