supporting the parents

way_2_tired

way_2_tired

Hey everyone!

I'm the oldest of five children, with the three youngest still living at home. My parents are married and both of them work, but they are having difficulty with "making ends meet".

They have been struggling for about 7 years now, as my dad has spent a significant amount of time unemployed as the manufacturing plants keep laying off.

I was selfish when i was still at home and used my income towards saving for college only, rather then helping them out. :o (my little sis helps out with her after school job)

After I moved out for under grad I did help as much as I could, loaning them my savings, and buying them what groceries I could, but it was never very much as I paid my tuition first.

Now I'm a medical student, and I don't have an income, just loan money. I have given them what I could but it's not much.

I struggle with how much to give them for a few reasons.

1. I don't have money for recreation and I don't own much.

2. I'm headed for a career of service as a doc in West Africa and I would like to use my little extra money towards the clinic I'm helping to start.

3. half their problem is a lack of money granted, but half is a mismanagement of the money they do have. I feel like I'm throwing thimbles full of water on a forest fire.

I love them so much. I try to help as needed without judgement. Does anybody else struggle with this? With how much to help the family versus how much to plan towards your own future?

Finding the balance between giving and receiving is difficult.

And more so for individuals, like yourself, who are called to being of service!

There is an article, "pitfalls on the way to becoming a healer", that you may find useful. Search it at SpiritLibrary.com -- it is of a spiritual nature/source, which isn't for everyone. (There are also others about healers needing to be self-loving and self-nurturing, but I don't know the titles offhand.)