another over protective mother...

MCwaffle

So I have been ignoring this since I was 13 years old, I am 20 now.

My parents got divorced when I was 13 and finalized it when I was a junior in high school, it was a traumatizing time for both my mother and I. We moved back in with my grandmother, even though my mom has never lived more then 2 minutes from her (literally we lived 3 houses away). My mom has stifled my ability to grow since then. basically here is the problem currently:

I am currently in a very committed relationship. my girlfriend lives 2 hours away from me and we drive to see each other once a week. She is even transferring to my school so that we can be together. I can never tell my mom when I am going down to see her though, she gets upset every time. She won't directly say anything against it, but she will get a bad attitude and make negative comments things relating to me going there. She is terrified that we are going to fail our classes (even though she was just inducted to an honor society and I made dean's list). I have stopped telling her that I go down there or even that my girlfriend comes to my school. She freaks out when she comes to my school for the night, she is afraid of us sleeping together. It is directly affecting my relationship, my girlfriend and I only fight over my mother, and her family is in a hard position becasue they then have to lie to my mom when she calls there.

I have been surfing competitively since I was 14 and I have never been to a surf contest my self. She insists on coming to every single one, and honestly it is embarrassing. I have suggested going to an event by myself and she gets upset.