Lost

Britney23

I am 21 years old and still live at home with my Dad. My studies are very demanding, so I cannot work very much so I cannot afford to move out. I'm stuck.

My dad constantly threatens to kick me out, or tells me "if you don't like it then move out". And it really upsets me to feel that I don't have a home, I dont really belong anywhere.

My dad acts as if I'm some drop-kick child and sit around at home doing nothing. I am studying law and have 2 casual jobs so I dont really understand why he has a go at me all the time and it just lowers my self-esteem.

Also, he has lots of days off from his work so is just bored and lonely at home most days. So when I get home he'll just start arguments or attack me about everything under the sun. An example from last night "have u heard from your boyfriend? He's probably cheating on you, I dont know why he'd want to be with you. Maybe you will get more work if you start dressing better, etc." My younger brother just adds even nastier comments and gangs up on me which is really annoying because when ever my dad starts on my brother I always stick up for him and try calm dad down.

I am an insecure and overly sensitive person and i think my dad has a lot to blame for this because of his behaviour. I know that its not good for me to live with him but I honestly don't know what to do. i try to change the topic and bring it on to him somehow but it never works, especially when you have two of them ganging up on me.

My mom already said I cant live with her, and I dont think me and my boyfriend are at that stage of the relationship yet and I dont want to put that kind of pressure on us.

If I try to reason with Dad or tell him to stop being nasty, his response is "if you dont like it then move out." then he will remind me that my mother doesnt want me and my boyfriend wouldnt put up with me for very long.

sorry i'm just really frustrated, emotional and needed to vent! any advice would be nice?