Don't know where to turn....

Hi,

This is my first time posting and I'll admit it's a little daunting having my thoughts and words staring back at me. I need to vent.

I have no one to really speak to, I feel alone.

I feel my marriage is at an end.

Me and my husband met through work, everything was really really good. We were inseparable. My number of friends dwindled as they too found long last relationships. I was a real social butterfly, him not so much but it worked in the beginning.

Things got serious, we married and moved in. My social outings became less frequent. As a couple we went out and did things together to start with now the only time we go out is to do our weekly food shop.

We're two totally different people in reality, it's often said that people couldn't see why we were together but I always insisted that we worked well and we're happy.

I've never been a self confident person, I'm the ugly duckling that stayed that way and learnt to live with it. My first ever relationship came about because I didn't feel anyone else would love me.

Anyway, we've been married for a good few years, just plodding along. Then I met someone. We became incredibly close as friends.

I've always considered myself to be a good girl, I was the first to condemn adulterers. I could never understand why someone would cheat.

It was a slow burning thing, but ultimately I cheated on my husband. The shame swept over me and eventually I confessed. This guy claims to love me and I believe him.

I don't think I can truly put into words how disgusted with myself I am, I literally hate myself beyond words. My poor husband has stayed with me despite it all and said he loved me.

His choice was for us to never mention it to anyone other than my parents and two of my managers at work. My parents are so disappointed by my actions and urged me to stay with my husband.