How to deal with $$/Terms during Trial Separation as Sole Bread-Earner?

starglider

I'm planning for a 3 month trial separation from my husband but I'm the sole bread-earner. We have a 9 year old daughter and I want to do this right. Any advice on how much money to give him each month during the separation? Any feedback on my plan below?

I'll list out background facts and what I'm thinking of doing.

Background:

-He's been unemployed for 9 years, marginally keeping up the house hold while I worked.

-We have a new brick and mortar business we have to keep running while I also work as a consultant.

-He's recently started anti-depression meds and is still a chronic pot smoker

-He only has one close friend (his EA partner, I believe) in the area

-He doesn't have the support network in friends and family that I have

-He's on a fitness kick and is into healthy food and working out (yay!)

-He is able to deal with shopping, cooking, cleaning, laundry, pets but hasn't done any bill-paying financial stuff in 15 years, since we met.

-We own a house with pets, we own a business nearby where we have 2 extra bedrooms and a kitchen

-We have access to my parents' nearby condo which is currently empty.

-So we have options of places to live where there will be no rent/lease needed.

My Plan:

-Close down our join account and take back his credit card from my personal account

-Set up a private banking account for him (he has none)

-Give him XXX dollars a month to cover food, gas, misc

-Maybe have him pay his own health insurance from the monthly fund (my daughter and I can be on one plan, he on another) now that I'm switching plans anyway. He'll have to budget this from the money he gets each month.

-His monthly stipend requires him to work 2 days a week at our business and do lawn work and trash each week at any time he wants. (I'll work the other 3 days each week - we're closed 2 days).