Marriage is in trouble

Not sure if we will divorce, but I am terrified we will. Warning... very long post with background history.

When I seventeen, I did a really bad thing. I've always regretted it, and I hate my seventeen year old self for doing this. I grew up with three best friends. We met in the first grade, and we've all stayed really good friends since. Well, until now. A lot of it has blown up on us. My best girl friend is Ashley. I befriended her because she was the new kid and so shy. I introduced her to my friend Ben. And then a few months later Ben started hanging out with our other friend Michael. I always had a crush on Ben, even way back in the first grade but I would never tell him since 'cooties' existed then.

It wasn't until we were in the seventh grade that I finally admitted that I liked him. I don't really want to sound conceited, because I used to be bad for that until a few years after I graduated High School... but I was considered one of the prettiest girls in the seventh grade. All the boys liked me, and I never had to sit out on a dance. Ashley wasn't ugly, but she wasn't usually one of the ones picked for dances. It was usually Ben or Michael or some of the friendlier boys who took her or danced with her... and also she was just so shy that no one but Ben or Michael could get through to her. At the time I knew at the time I was the prettiest, so I was shocked when Ben turned me down. He told me that he didn't want to ruin our friendship, but yet he was friends with other girls and he took them out on dates, so I was kind of angry. Especially once he picked this Melanie girl who no one liked because she had her nose in a book all the time. They dated from seventh grade until mid ninth grade. As soon as he was single again, I went after him again because I really wanted him but he still wouldn't date me. He was a catch too. Even the girls in the older grades wanted him.