Legal matters with bills, some assistance if possible??

zilverenvlinder

zilverenvlinder

So, I've been cohabiting with my now ex fiance for almost two years.

Two years ago, we financed a HUGE plasma screen television for 3000 dollars. We had to finance it in my name, because he had really bad credit. He is, however, the secondary signer. I'm not sure how this all works, but the bank it is financed through won't even talk to him about the loan over the phone without my permission.

So, even though he's made the payments this whole time, and it's almost half paid off, this television belongs to me, doesn't it?

Actually, everything that's financed in our townhouse belongs to me, because I'm the primary signer!

This wouldn't even be an issue if he hadn't f---ked me over so royally.

Does anyone have any legal advice for me? Thanks!

I don't really have any experience with these kinds of things, but I would think he could sue you in small claims court if you try to keep the TV, provided he can prove with bank records that he's been making all the payments (like cancelled checks to the finance company or credit card charges).

Do you want the TV? If you take it, you'll be responsible for over $1500 in debt. And you may have to reimburse him for at least a portion of what he's paid (if he sues you).

I guess if he's ok with you keeping the TV and you're ok with paying off the remainder, you're fine.

It's late and I'm not really thinking clearly. I'd be worried about the debt being in my name. If you keep the TV, he has no reason to keep paying. Can you afford the other $1500? If you let him keep it, do you have any guarantee he will keep making the payments? Get it in writing!

LakesideDream
So, I've been cohabiting with my now ex fiance for almost two years.