Dilemma

jackalkid

My situation is kinda unorthodox, in that the person I'm doing NC with was not my boyfriend. I'll explain the story here, apologies for length:

In August last year, I met a guy on Tinder; I was just studying in my university library and got incredibly bored and just needed to meet up with someone. I was hesitant about going to meet him (having been through a traumatic childhood, for which I am currently seeing a therapist and really eager to get over and move on with my life.) Anyway, met him - and he was absolutely perfect. I'm a self-confessed overachiever, not arrogant though, and no one really knows how well I do in class. He loved that about me, and we really connected over all sorts of things (work, politics, we're both not out of the closet, etc.)

In September, classes started up again and I got really busy (I'm in my final year, and my grades and work are super important to me.) Anyway, we still met up a few times, and had a drunk conversation in which he admitted that "I was his one," "I really wanna be with you..." I then got REALLY busy because I had a few problems at home, moved back for a few weeks to deal with them, but still spoke to him via text. Part of the problem here is that it IS my past that stopped me just "being" with him, dating, and then even being able to accept it being over if the relationship fizzled away.