We were reconnecting and now....?

ashadetree

My ex and I broke up after dating for four months. We had some communications problems and it was my first real relationship. She came in hard and fast after just ending a 3 year emotionally abusive relationships. I wanted to take things slow but she felt rejected because I wasn't reciprocating her level of intensity. I just couldn't, I'm still learning myself and going from a life of singlehood I had to learn the ropes of being in a relationship as fast as I could. But it wasn't fast enough :/ She was crazy about me and although I liked her so much I wasn't able to return her exact level of emotion as fast as she wanted. Occasionally I thought I might have to end it because I couldn't live up to these expectations she had of me...but I didn't. I didn't want to. I really liked her.

Anyway she ended things after almost cheating on me. I was devastated. She then started reaching out, and re-initiating things. We were basically dating again for the past four months, although a few times she has pulled back and said that she doesn't want commitment now and that she's processing her prior relationship. I tried my damn best to show her that I wanted her...be more attentive and put a lot more effort in than I was before. I think I did a LOT to change, I wanted to show her how much I wanted to try again.

Just before the holidays she started to get distant again. I'm devastated once again. I'm so upset...why would she string me along for four months?

Long story short, I got to know her more the past four months since the breakup (so we have been seeing each other for 8 months total) and my feelings for her deepened. I think the space and the reduced pressure of the relationship also allowed my feelings to come out. I was surprised to find when she broke up with me that I felt so much more for her than I thought....my lack of experience and my anxiety really screwed me up.