1 Year NC: How to approach reconciliation?

whiteduvet

This is long...I'm a lurker, appreciate any insight!

Here are the characters: me, 28, I'm a freelance graphic designer. Chris, 30, works in finance.

Here is the timeline:

May 2013: I meet Chris on Tinder in Dallas (where I'm from). He lives in SF. We have long distance texting friendship until...

July 2014: I move to SF.

July-December 2014: We start dating. We're hanging almost every night.

I complain about his lack of "effort" bc all he wants to do is hang at home but I put up with it because I really like him.

Unbeknownst to me, he has no money outside of rent/basics because he's pulling his parents out of debt.

On top of that, he is exhausted because:

• He's working 80 hours/week
  • He was recently diagnosed with an auto-immune disease.

Obviously he's exhausted and never wants to "do" anything -- movies, walks, nothing. I work from home, and I want to go out at night! I am literally ITCHING to get out of the house.

January 2015: He breaks down and tells me about his parents' financial situation, his exhaustion, etc. I had no idea.

He thinks I expect expensive dates. I assure him I just want to spend time with him outside of his apartment, even if it's just a walk.

February 2015: He tells me he's in love with me. I tell him I love him back.

Nothing changes in terms of us spending time outside of his apartment. It's always HIS schedule, HIS preferences, etc.

May 2015: This has been going on for months and I give him an ultimatum: either he starts giving 50% or it's over.

He tells me his life is too stressful (financially, emotionally, etc.) to give me the type of relationship I want. I say fine and walk.

Summer 2015: We keep talking but not seeing each other, even though he tries to. He calls me every time he's drunk and tells me he loves me and how he wishes he could "give me what I deserve." We text all day.