still in lust with him

Hi Loveshackers!

I'd like your advice on my situation if you please...

Eight months ago I met this wholesome guy with some deep-seated insecurity and trust issues (his long-distance estranged gf at the time had cheated on him but they were still "together"-- he was basically her doormat and bf-in-waiting). In fact, because of peculiar circumstances, he had not spoken to her or seen her in a year, but they did keep in regular touch by email and chatting. And before that, they did live together for a year in China. She was his first serious relationship, but he always felt she was using him and underappreciated all that he did for her.

Anyway, last summer I became his friend and we began talking everyday on the phone (long-distance) and grew closer and closer until he decided to take a risk and fly over to meet me (and my family). I made him feel genuinely appreciated and hopeful again. Being an artist myself, I fully encouraged his photography aspirations in a way no one ever had. Plus, if I may say so, I'm a pretty special girl-- smarter, more talented, confident, ambitious, less needy, less afraid of trying new things than his gf. We did have instant chemistry and over the five days of his visit, we fell madly and passionately in love. I was totally inexperienced with men, while he of course knew a thing or two. So he taught me a great deal and naturally I associated him with all the wonderful beautiful aspects of sexual intimacy.

My family liked him, I adored him, and he left back for his country convinced I was the One, and was a devoted long-distance lover for a few months, even after he left for Japan with his now ex gf to continue his original plan of teaching there for a year. They had made that plan together long before he met me. But he assured me that his feelings for her were different now and that I needn't worry about him being more than friends with her. Because this guy was wholesome and good, I trusted his word for it.