Can he change? Why won't he for love?

The boy who has my heart and I have been dating for 3.5 years. We were with each other almost every day for the first 1.5 years. After I graduated from undergrad, I moved 2 hours away for graduate school. At first, he told me how he wanted to move with me but that wasn't true. I don't blame him because he wouldn't have anything to do where I am at at school. So he stayed back. He was supportive of me moving but also mad at me because he wanted to settle down with me. During the first couple months after I moved, he started talking to this girl who was local. She had a boyfriend of 5 years but my boyfriend began to receive an emotional attachment to her. He even admitted to having feelings for her and told her that too. Obviously, she didn't want him but still wanted to talk to him. So I tried to put an end to it. He said he had ended it, but I found out that they were still talking every once in awhile behind my back. Even to this day, he was going behind my back and contacting her. Keep in mind she is married now, but shouldn't he respect me enough to not contact her? He says now that he was stupid and has her blocked on everything. He also says he doesn't want anything to do with her. But how is that fair now? After all of this happened, the trust went to crap and I turned into a psycho. I didn't trust him on fb, snapchat, email, or with his phone at all. When I would come to see him on the weekends, I would go through every inch of his phone. But he also got good at hiding it from me by deleting messages or phone calls. I even caught her number in his phone under a different name. He said that happened when he was drunk. I have tried to get past this situation but I have been so hurt from it all.